Padmashree College
The British College

Karnali Province

Birendranagar, Surkhet

Estd. 2018




Karnali Province (कर्णाली प्रदेश) was established in 2018 (2074) as one of the seven federal provinces of Nepal formed by a constitution which was adopted on 20 September 2015 (2072 BS). The Capital City of Karnali Pradesh is located in Birendranagar Surkhet, which was declared on January 2018. The name of ‘Karnali Pradesh’ declared after the elected Provincial Assembly of this province in February 2018.

The total area of the Karnali province is 24,453 square kilometers (9,441 sq mi). The population of this province was 1,570,418 According to the 2011 Nepal census, and On 1 January 2016, the estimated population was 1,701,800. The border of Karnali Province is surrounded by the Tibet Autonomous Region of China to the north, Gandaki Province to the east, Sudurpashchim Province to the west, and Province No. 5 to the south.

Speaking Karnali, we remember the "Karnali" that hangs in our vernacular and is loved by the people of Karnali. Karnali is a civilization. The development of human civilization in big cities is connected to the river. Whether it is Athens or Mesopotamia or Roman civilization, we are connected by a river. Similarly, the oldest civilization of Nepal is Karnali and it is connected with the Karnali river. Karnali civilization is associated with human civilization and culture. Ancestors who saw Karnali yesterday have seen vehicles plying in Kalikot, Jumla, Mugu, and Dolpa.

The only goal of Karnali Province is development, infrastructure, and change. Karnali wants to be a source of prosperity. Water, land, tourism, herbs, costumes, language, and culture are the main focal points in the prosperity of Karnali.

Karnali Province is a unique region of the country, where potential has given the opportunity. Employment has been provided. The basis for survival is given. By looking at many possibilities of Karnali due to lack of investment. In this sense, it is necessary to come to Karnali and create a situation where people are compelled to write songs of prosperity and not sad songs. To give just one example, Karnali has many bases that can be developed as an area of ​​hydropower generation. Karnali Humla flowing through Humla Karnali, Bheri flowing through Dolpa, and Tila flowing through Jumla are the bases to be developed as electricity hubs using the water. Similarly, if we invest only in the tourism potential of Karnali, we will not have to wait for prosperity.

Karnali Province is divided into ten (10) districts.  A district is administrated by the head of the District Coordination Committee (DCC) and the District Administration Officer (DAO). The districts are further dived into municipalities (Nagarpalika) or rural municipalities (Gaunpalika). There are 25 municipalities and 54 rural municipalities in this province.

Districts under Karnali province:

  1. Dailekh District
  2. Dolpa District
  3. Humla District
  4. Jajarkot District
  5. Jumla District
  6. Kalikot District
  7. Mugu District
  8. Salyan District
  9. Surkhet District
  10. Western Rukum District

Contact Details of Karnali Province, Surkhet


Questions & Discussions

Ask Question