Padmashree College
The British College
ISMT College

Tribhuvan University Service Commission Chairman to be Appointed through Open Competition

News 24 Sep 2022 953 0

Tribhuvan University Building

For the first time in the history of Tribhuvan University (TU), the appointment of the Service Commission Chairman will be done through open competition.

The meeting of the three-member selection committee chaired by the Minister of Education, Science and Technology and Vice-Chancellor of the University, Devendra Paudel, has approved the procedure for requesting open applications for the chairman of the TU Service Commission for the first time. The application has been requested on this basis.

According to Kul Prasad Khanal, Private Secretary of the Minister of Education, so far 38 professors have submitted applications with clear action plans. Only two weeks ago, the three-year term of the chairmanship of the commission ended. After that, the selection committee published a public notice and asked for applications based on the criteria, said Private Secretary Khanal. He also said that the committee will submit the list of eligible candidates to the Chancellor within a week.

According to the TU Act, a three-member selection committee chaired by the Minister of Education and the Vice-Chancellor has been formed by the Chancellor and Prime Minister of the University to appoint the Chairman of the Commission. The other two members of the committee are Dr. Pushparaman Wagle, the member of the Planning Commission who looks after education, and the other member is the Vice-Chancellor of Sudurpaschim University, Prof. Dr. Ambaraj Joshi.

Tribhuvan University