Padmashree College
The British College
ISMT College

Tribhuvan University Shortlists 14 Candidates for Vice-Chancellor Position

News 10 Feb 2024 529 0

Tribhuvan University Building

Tribhuvan University Shortlists 14 Candidates for Vice-Chancellor Position

In an important development, Tribhuvan University's Vice-Chancellor Selection and Recommendation Committee has announced a shortlist of 14 candidates for the prestigious position of Vice-Chancellor. This announcement marks a critical phase in the selection process, aimed at identifying a leader capable of steering Nepal's largest and oldest university towards future success.

The committee, formed under the guidance of Prime Minister and Chancellor of the University, Pushpa Kamal Dahal 'Prachanda', alongside Minister of Education, Science and Technology, Ashok Kumar Rai, has meticulously evaluated the applications to select the most qualified individuals for the next round, which includes presentations and interviews.

The candidates, chosen from a pool of 43 applicants, are as follows: Kusum Shakya, Kesharjung Baral, Gobind Subedi, Chitra Bahadur Budhathoki, Gyanendra Prasad Poudyal, Tanknath Dhamala, Tirtharaj Khanian, Narayan Belwase, Prakash Ghimire, Bhojraj Aryal, Mahendra Prasad Sharma, Ramchandra Basnet, Shivlal Bhusal, and Surya Bahadur Thapa. These individuals have been shortlisted based on their academic credentials, leadership qualities, and vision for the university's future.

The selection committee is a blend of political leadership and academic expertise, including the Prime Minister, the Minister of Education, Science and Technology, Sure Sachivesh Adhikari, and Dr. Chandrakala Ghimire, Head of the Buddhist Studies Department at Tribhuvan University.

Until a new Vice-Chancellor is appointed, Shivlal Bhusal will continue to serve as the Acting Vice-Chancellor, ensuring that the university's administrative and academic activities proceed without interruption.

This announcement is a significant step forward in the selection process, underscoring the university's commitment to excellence and leadership in higher education. The academic community and stakeholders are eagerly awaiting the outcome, hopeful that the new Vice-Chancellor will lead Tribhuvan University to greater heights of academic achievement and innovation.

Shortlisted Candidates Name List with District:

  1. Kusum Shakya - Kathmandu
  2. Kesharjung Baral - Palpa
  3. Govind Subedi - Kathmandu
  4. Chitra Bahadur Budhathoki - Baglung
  5. Gyanendra Prasad Paudyal - Nawalparasi
  6. Tanknath Dhamla - Okhaldhunga
  7. Tirtharaj Khaniya - Chitwan
  8. Narayan Prasad Belbase - Arghakhanchi
  9. Prakash Ghimire - Kathmandu
  10. Bhojraj Aryal - Kathmandu
  11. Mahendra Prasad Sharma - Baglung
  12. Ramchandra Basnet - Kathmandu
  13. Shivlal Bhusal - Arghakhanchi
  14. Surya Bahadur Thapa - Gulmi

Notice Tribhuvan University

Tribhuvan University (TU)

Kirtipur, Kathmandu

Estd. 1959