Padmashree College
The British College
ISMT College

Tribhuvan University Vice-Chancellor Candidacy Draws Diverse Applicants

News 23 Jan 2024 980 0

Tribhuvan University Vice-Chancellor Candidacy Draws Diverse Applicants

Tribhuvan University Vice-Chancellor Candidacy Draws Diverse Applicants

Tribhuvan University (TU), a prominent educational institution, is currently at the heart of an extensive search for a new Vice-Chancellor. The Ministry of Education, Science and Technology has recently announced that a total of 43 candidates have submitted their applications for this prestigious position by the deadline.

Key Applicants for the Vice-Chancellor Position

Among the applicants are notable academic figures, including:

  • Prof. Dr. Shivlal Bhusal, the current Acting Vice-Chancellor of TU.
  • Prof. Dr. Tirtha Khanian, former Vice-Chancellor of TRI University.
  • Prof. Dr. Lekhnath Sharma, former Vice-Chancellor of Nepal Open University.
  • Prof. Dr. Kesharjung Baral, former Vice-Chancellor of Pokhara University.
  • Prof. Dr. Chandramani Poudel, former Registrar of TU.
  • Gunanidhi Neupane, former Rector of TU.
  • Prof. Dr. Kusum Shakya, former Vice-Chancellor of TU.
  • Prof. Dr. Nanda Bahadur Singh, the current vice-chancellor of Midwest University.
  • Prof. Dr. Indra Karki, who also served as Acting Vice-Chancellor at Nepal Open University.
  • Prof. Dr. Rajkumar Pokhrel, former head of the History Department at TU.

Diverse Backgrounds of Applicants

The applicant pool showcases a rich diversity of backgrounds, including former vice-chancellors, deans, professors, and other distinguished positions from various universities across Nepal. This wide range of candidates highlights the strong interest and competitive nature of the selection process for the Vice-Chancellor role at TU.

Selection Process

The selection and recommendation committee, established specifically for this purpose, opened the call for applications on January 8, 2024, setting a 15-day deadline for submissions, which concluded on January 22, 2024. This marks a significant step in the rigorous selection process aimed at identifying a leader capable of advancing the university's mission and addressing the challenges facing higher education.

The search for a new Vice-Chancellor at Tribhuvan University is a critical event that underscores the university's commitment to leadership excellence and academic advancement. With a diverse and highly qualified group of candidates, the selection process promises to be a meticulous and thoughtful endeavor, reflecting the high standards of the institution and its stakeholders. The chosen Vice-Chancellor will play a pivotal role in shaping the future of TU, steering it towards new heights of academic success and innovation.

Here is a List of 43 Candidates:

  1. Prof. Dr. Shivlal Bhusal (current Acting Vice-Chancellor of TU)
  2. Prof. Dr. Tirtha Khanian (former Vice-Chancellor of TRI University)
  3. Prof. Dr. Lekhnath Sharma (former Vice-Chancellor of Nepal Open University)
  4. Prof. Dr. Kesharjung Baral (former Vice-Chancellor of Pokhara University)
  5. Prof. Dr. Chandramani Poudel (former Registrar of TU)
  6. Gunanidhi Neupane (former Rector of TU)
  7. Prof. Dr. Kusum Shakya (former Vice-Chancellor of TU)
  8. Prof. Dr. Nanda Bahadur Singh (current Vice-Chancellor of Midwest University)
  9. Prof. Dr. Indra Karki (Acting Vice-Chancellor at Nepal Open University)
  10. Prof. Dr. Rajkumar Pokhrel (former head of the History Department at TU)
  11. Sangeeta Rayamazhi
  12. Sanjay Acharya
  13. Prof. Dr. Tanknath Dhamala
  14. Prof. Dr. Anandvallabh Joshi
  15. Prof. Dr. Akkaljev Mishra
  16. Prof. Dr. Ridishkumar Pokharel
  17. Narayan Prasad Pathak
  18. Prof. Dr. Gyanendra Prasad Paudel
  19. Dr. Vinay Kumar Jha
  20. Dr. Narayan Shubh Pathak
  21. Prof. Dr. Mahanand Chalise
  22. Surya Bahadur Thapa
  23. Prof. Dr. Bhojraj Aryal
  24. Bhimsen Devkota
  25. Prof. Dr. Vedanath Sharma
  26. Prof. Dr. Narayan Prasad Belbase
  27. Prof. Dr. Hemraj Sharma
  28. Prof. Dr. Prakash Ghimire (Kathmandu)
  29. Prof. Dr. Prakash Ghimire (Gorkha)
  30. Dr. Ramchandra Basnet
  31. Prof. Dr. Kedar Nath Ghimire
  32. Prof. Dr. Mahendra Prasad Sharma
  33. Prof. Dr. Vinod Parajuli
  34. Prof. Dr. Dev Bahadur Khadka
  35. Prof. Dr. Krishnaraj Tiwari
  36. Prof. Dr. Govind Subedi
  37. Prof. Dr. Navraj Devkota
  38. Balamukund Regmi
  39. Prof. Dr. Ramprasad Regmi
  40. Prof. Dr. Chitra Bahadur Budhathoki
  41. Prof. Dr. Triratna Bajracharya
  42. Prof. Dr. Ekraj Ojha
  43. Prof. Dr. Pramod Kumar Jha
Tribhuvan University

Tribhuvan University (TU)

Kirtipur, Kathmandu

Estd. 1959