Padmashree College
The British College
ISMT College

Central Department of Physics Tribhuvan University

Kirtipur, Kathmandu

Estd. 1965




The Central Department of Physics (CDP) at Tribhuvan University has played a pivotal role in fostering the growth of physics education and research in Nepal. With its establishment in 1969, the department has been instrumental in providing theoretical physics courses at the Master's level, opening up opportunities for Nepalese students to explore the world of physics. Despite facing challenges, the CDP has successfully graduated over 3000 physics students who are actively contributing to the development of the nation across various sectors.

Contributions and Global Reach:

The impact of the CDP's education and research programs extends beyond national borders. Currently, around 800 physics graduates from the department are pursuing higher education and engaging in research activities abroad, predominantly in the United States. This global presence showcases the quality of education and training imparted by the department, as our graduates actively contribute to scientific advancements on an international scale.

Research and Academic Growth:

Over the years, the Central Department of Physics has witnessed a gradual increase in research activities. Currently, there are 25 Ph.D. students and 240 students enrolled in the Master's program, demonstrating the department's commitment to fostering advanced research capabilities. The completion of over 800 Master's theses, along with approximately 100 international publications, underscores the department's dedication to producing high-quality research outcomes.

Upholding International Standards:

In line with the evolving educational landscape, the CDP recognizes the need to align with international standards and establish itself as a center of excellence, not only within Nepal but also among regional and international institutions. To achieve this goal, the department introduced the semester system in 2013, aiming to elevate the standard of education and research. However, in order to fully implement and sustain this system, there is an urgent requirement for additional faculties, skilled staff members, an e-library, and enhanced research infrastructure.

Striving for Excellence:

The Central Department of Physics at Tribhuvan University is dedicated to providing a model system of education and research that sets the bar high for other national colleges and receives recognition from regional and international institutions. By continually upgrading its higher education system, fostering research endeavors, and meeting the demands of the semester system, the department aims to empower students and researchers, positioning Nepal as a hub for cutting-edge physics education and scientific advancements.

The Central Department of Physics at Tribhuvan University has been a driving force behind the growth of physics education and research in Nepal. With a rich history of producing competent graduates and a focus on research excellence, the department is poised to elevate its standing in the international academic community. By investing in necessary resources and upholding international standards, the CDP is committed to providing a world-class education and research environment, shaping the future of physics in Nepal and contributing to global scientific progress.

Courses Offered

The Central Department of Physics, Tribhuvan University offers a range of programs that provide students with comprehensive knowledge and expertise in the field of physics. Affiliated with Tribhuvan University, these programs are designed to empower students to pursue advanced education and research in physics. The department offers the following programs:

1. MSc Physics:

  • Affiliation: Tribhuvan University
  • Duration: 2 Years
  • Seats: 120

Overview: The MSc Physics program is a postgraduate course that provides students with a deep understanding of theoretical and practical aspects of physics. Through a rigorous curriculum, students gain expertise in various subfields of physics, including classical mechanics, quantum mechanics, electromagnetism, statistical mechanics, and astrophysics. The program equips students with the necessary skills to pursue careers in research, academia, and industries that require a strong foundation in physics.

2. PhD in Physics:

  • Affiliation: Tribhuvan University
  • Duration: 3 Years

Overview: The PhD in Physics program is a doctoral course designed for students seeking to make significant contributions to the field of physics through original research. The program focuses on developing students' research abilities, critical thinking, and analytical skills. Under the guidance of experienced faculty members, students delve deep into their chosen area of specialization within physics. The program prepares students for careers in academia, research institutions, and scientific organizations, where they can lead groundbreaking research and contribute to the advancement of knowledge in physics.

These programs offered by the Central Department of Physics at Tribhuvan University provide students with a strong foundation in physics, enabling them to pursue rewarding careers in various scientific disciplines. With a commitment to excellence in education and research, the department prepares students for the challenges and opportunities that await them in the dynamic field of physics.

The message from the Head of the Department of Physics is as follows:

"The field of Physics is a natural science that involves theory, experiments, measurements, and analysis in the search for physical laws. In 1965, the Masters of Science (M.Sc.) program in physics was introduced at Tribhuvan University with a specialization in Nuclear physics. The department was initially located at Tri Chandra College and was headed by Professor Phanindra Prasad Lohani, the first Nepalese M.Sc. (Physics) degree holder.

Over the past four and a half decades, the Central Department of Physics (CDP) has graduated around 1400 students. The department was later shifted to Tribhuvan University's college in Kirtipur, housed in a beautifully designed small block in Nepalese style. Initially, the faculty consisted of Nepalese part-time professors and a few professors from India, UK, and USA.

In addition to the regular M.Sc. program, the CDP has also awarded more than 10 Ph.D. degrees in various fields of Physics such as Astrophysics, Atmospheric Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, Plasma Physics, and Solid State Physics.

Currently, we enroll 120 students per academic year in the M.Sc. program based on the merit list of the entrance test conducted by our department. Many M.Sc. graduates have the opportunity to receive training in research methodology through dissertations or project work as part of their degree requirements. The research works cover a wide range of physics fields within the regulations of IOST, TU, and the available academic facilities in the country.

We also encourage collaborative research at both the M.Sc. and Ph.D. levels to address specific research problems. For further information or inquiries, please contact us at the Central Department of Physics, Tribhuvan University, Kirtipur, 44613, Kathmandu, Nepal. You can reach us via email at [email protected]."


  • Tribhuvan University (TU)

Infrastructure / Facilities

  • Hostel
  • Cafeteria
  • Library
  • Sports
  • Auditorium
  • Labs
    Science Lab
  • Conference
  • Banking Services
    Banking Services
  • Multimedia
  • Parking
  • Online Journal
  • Counselling
  • Scholarship

Contact Details of Central Department of Physics Tribhuvan University, Kathmandu


Questions & Discussions

Ask Question