Padmashree College
The British College

England Won T20 World Cup 2022

News 14 Nov 2022 91 0

England Won T20 World Cup 2022

With the help of batsman Ben Stokes' brave performance, England defeated Pakistan by five wickets to win the T20 World Cup on Sunday. England is also the champion of the ODI World Cup.

In this way, England was the winner of both ODI and T20 World Cup at the same time and managed to achieve a rare achievement.

Having set a target of 138 runs for victory at the Melbourne Cricket Ground, England made a winning run by losing five wickets in 19 overs. Stokes remained not out scoring 52 runs under pressure. This is his first half-century in T20 cricket. He was strongly supported by Moeen Ali and he scored an important 19 runs. Before that, captain Jos Buttler scored 26 runs.

After Pakistani bowler Shaheen Afridi was forced to leave the field due to injury, the match turned in favor of England. England won the toss and decided to field first. During that time, with the help of tight bowling and accurate fielding, he restricted Pakistan to 137 runs after losing eight wickets in 20 overs.

Shan Masood scored 38 runs for Pakistan and this was his personal high score. Similarly, captain Babar Azam scored 32 runs and Shadab Khan scored 20 runs. Pakistan could not put up a challenging score after losing wickets at regular intervals. Among the English bowlers, Sam Curran was the most successful and he took three wickets for 12 runs. Similarly, Adil Rashid and Chris Jordan took two wickets each.

Pakistan Playing XI - Babar Azam (Captain), Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Haris Rauf

England Playing XI - Jos Buttler (c), Alex Hales, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingston, Moeen Ali, Sam Karan, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid

England has avenged the 1992 World Cup loss to Pakistan. In the final of the 1992 ODI World Cup, Pakistan defeated England at this Melbourne Cricket Ground. Now 30 years later, England have taken revenge by defeating Pakistan by five wickets in Melbourne itself. Batting first after losing the toss, Pakistan scored 137 runs losing eight wickets in 20 overs. Pakistan's batting flopped. Six batsmen could not even touch double figures. Shan Masood scored the highest 38 runs. At the same time, Captain Babar played an inning of 32 runs. Sam Karan took the maximum three wickets from England. In response, England achieved the target by losing five wickets in 19 overs. Ben Stokes remained unbeaten after scoring 52 runs in 49 balls. This was his first half-century in T20 International.

England has become the champion for the second time in T20. Earlier in 2010 also the team became the T20 champion. Then the captain of the English team was Paul Collingwood. Overall this is England's third World Cup title. In 2019, the England team also became the ODI champion. At the same time, this was Pakistan's third final. In the first T20 World Cup in 2007, Pakistan had to face defeat against India. At the same time, in 2009 the team became the T20 champion. Now in 2022, the Pakistan team once again had to face defeat in the final.